Estuary, the platform for collaboration and learning through live coding, turns five years old on Thursday 3 Dec 2020 - the fifth anniversary of the first "commit" to Estuary's source code! To celebrate, the Networked Imagination Laboratory (NIL) is hosting a day of live-streamed performances, featuring ensembles from around the world (with performers from places including Alberta, Colombia, Czech Republic, England, India, Israel, Japan, Massachussets, México, Newfoundland, Ontario, Québec, Scotland, and South Africa). The day includes three live-streamed workshops on newer live coding languages available within Estuary (CineCer0, Punctual, Seis8s) and ends with a presentation and discussion on Estuary's past, present, and future. All are welcome!
To partake of the day's celebrations, just tune-in to this YouTube live-stream for the day.
The day's events run continuously from 10 AM EST (15:00 UTC) until 6 PM EST (23:00 UTC). Here's the schedule:
  • 15:00 UTC (10 AM EST): SuperContinent
  • 15:30 UTC (10:30 AM EST): UPLorc (University of Pretoria)
  • 16:00 UTC (11:00 AM EST): KSS
  • 16:30 UTC (11:30 AM EST): Workshop: CineCer0 (Alejandro Franco Briones)
  • 17:00 UTC (12:00 PM EST): Workshop: Animating photography with Punctual (David Ogborn)
  • 17:30 UTC (12:30 PM EST): Workshop: Seis8s (Luis Navarro del Angel)
  • 18:00 UTC (1:00 PM EST): shared buffer reunion performance
  • 18:30 UTC (1:30 PM EST): ICEe (University of Lethbridge)
  • 19:00 UTC (2:00 PM EST): Naga Mas
  • 19:30 UTC (2:30 PM EST): Mini-CLOrk (Concordia University)
  • 20:00 UTC (3:00 PM EST): UrTeam
  • 20:30 UTC (3:30 PM EST): Cybernetic Orchestra (McMaster University)
  • 21:00 UTC (4:00 PM EST): FaMLE (MIT)
  • 21:30 UTC (4:30 PM EST): ASCIItos
  • 22:00 UTC (5:00 PM EST): Estuary at 5: Past, present, and future of Estuary
Below are further details about each event within the day. Any and all questions about the day can be addressed by email to David Ogborn.
SuperContinent: SuperContinent is a globally distributed live coding ensemble, formed in 2018, with members in 6 different time zones meeting for weekly rehearsals and performances. SuperContinent’s improvised performance for the Estuary 5th birthday celebration will include contributions by Celeste Betancur, Abhinay Khoparzi, Melandri Laubscher, Shelly Knotts, Mynah Marie, David Ogborn, Chiho Oka, Jessica Rodriguez, and Eldad Tsabary.
UPLorc: UPLOrc (The University of Pretoria Laptop Orchestra) is a newly established ensemble based in Pretoria, South Africa at the University of Pretoria School of Arts. Its members consist of undergraduates, post-graduates and staff members at the university. Current members are Miles Warrington (director), Melandri Laubscher (manager), Grace Allen (undergraduate) and Brett Hannay (undergraduate). This event will be UPLOrc’s debut performance on the Estuary platform since its establishment in 2019.
KSS: KSS is a noisemaking trio consisting of music composer and director Sneha Khanwalkar, audio researcher and instrument maker Akash Sharma, and musician and technologist Abhinay Khoparzi. The group was born as a necessity of its members to share sounds, concepts and composition ideas, exploring livecoding in a country that is stuck in a lockdown separating artists across vast distances.
Workshop: CineCero: CineCer0 is a live coding language for animating video playback and typography, built-in to Estuary and created by the Estuary development team specifically for the platform. In this livestreamed workshop, Alejandro Franco Briones will introduce the basic usage and recent developments in CineCer0.
Workshop: Animating photography with Punctual: Punctual is a live coding language for the synthesis of audio and video. In this livestreamed workshop, Punctual creator David Ogborn will focus on the use of Punctual for animating photography - for example, taking a photographic image availabe on the Internet and making it move in ways that sychronize with and relate to music that is being generated, at the same time, within an Estuary ensemble.
Workshop: Seis8s: Seis8s is a recent computer language that allows real-time interaction with digital audio and localized musical knowledge. The first "module" of Seis8s uses commands in Spanish and produces music influenced by cumbia sonidera, a style particular to the Mexican working-class in Mexico and the United States. In this introductory workshop, participants will be able to interact with basic concepts and commands around cumbia and Seis8s. Seis8s is part of workshop leader Luis Del Angel’s PhD project tentatively called “Culturally Situated Platforms for Computer Music”. The only requirements for the workshop is a pair of headphones and to have Chrome, Chromium, or Opera installed. For more info about Seis8s see its Github repository.
shared buffer reunion performance: Between 2014 and 2015 the "shared buffer" group did a series of collaborative live coding performances using the extramuros environment, and both the experience of these performances and the “design” of extramuros influenced the subsequent Estuary project. The members of “shared buffer” reunited to celebrate Estuary’s 5th birthday are Alexandra Cárdenas, Ian Jarvis, Alex McLean, David Ogborn, and Eldad Tsabary.
Naga Mas: Naga Mas are a long-established gamelan group from Glasgow, Scotland. Not being able to play together live, we took samples of our instruments and started livecoding collaboratively instead. This performance will be an extended version of a composition called ‘Waves’ by group member Mags Smith, incorporating the traditional Gaelic song ‘Chuir iad mise dh’eilean leam fhìn’ – ‘They left me on this island far away’. Performers: Muireann Levis, Sophie Pragnell, Sen Sewell, Heather Strohschein, J Simon van der Walt, Katherine Waumsley and Bill Whitmer. Streaming technician: Dan Schellhas.
Mini-CLOrk: The Concordia Laptop Orchestra (CLOrk) is a laptop ensemble established at Concordia University in 2010, typically comprising 25-30 members, specializing in collective improvisation, interdisciplinary collaborations, and telematics. This mini-CLOrk performance includes Alana DeVito and Eldad Tsabary improvising sound on miniTidal and visuals by Kasey Pocius using the Hydra estuary implementation.
UrTeam: we are barry wan, shaun bellamy, dndrew, the newly formed canadian-czech UrTeam and we invite you to the shared planet of Ur
     dll rrrrrr beeeee bö,
     dll rrrrrr beeeee bö fümms bö,
          rrrrrr beeeee bö fümms bö wö,
                  beeeee bö fümms bö wö tää,
                               bö fümms bö wö tää zää,
                                    fümms bö wö tää zää Ur :
Cybernetic Orchestra: The Cybernetic Orchestra is McMaster University’s live coding laptop orchestra, active continuously since 2010 and open to new members from across the McMaster community. The group has produced five albums, the most recent of which is just about to be released (and was recorded with all members performing from different locations owing to pandemic circumstances). The Cybernetic Orchestra will perform two short improvisations for Estuary’s 5th birthday, with contributions from Liam Foley, Alejandro Franco, Alex MacLean, Sam McBride, Samantha McEwan, Luis N. del Angel, David Ogborn, Jessica Rodriguez, Gordon Simmons, Stephen Surlin, Alejandro Tamayo, Andrew Veinot.
FaMLE: FaMLE, the MIT Laptop Ensemble, is a living laboratory which investigates how contemporary musical practices are shaped by emerging technologies. In our laptop-based performances we incorporate networked systems, digital musical instruments, and custom software to allow us to explore new forms of musical collaboration. For our second year as ensemble, we are focusing on live coding using a variety of environments, including Tidal, Punctual, Gibber, and several environments created by ensemble members.
ASCIItos: We are Barush, Nuriban and Gabriel G, together we are ASCIITO, an assembly based in Morelia.
ICEe: Members of Integra Contemporary & Electroacoustics (ICEe) come together to celebrate Estuary's birthday. ICEe is based in Lethbridge Alberta, Canada, and is an electroacoustic music ensemble formed by students in the digital audio arts, computer science, management, and music from the Univ. of Lethbridge. ICEe focuses on a cross-disciplinary integration of practices and art forms: audio and visual; analogue and digital; instrumental and computer/algorithmic performance; hardware and software; music and performance art.
Estuary at 5: Past, present, and future of the Estuary platform: David Ogborn will share some insights into past, present, and future work on the Estuary platform, in a live-streamed presentation, then we'll shut off the livestream and transition to an open video chat with all who are interested. Questions about how to participate in the discussion can be directed to David Ogborn by email.